visopsys.org

Visopsys Forums
It is currently Tue Jan 16, 2018 2:48 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 133 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 14  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Translating Visopsys OS
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 10:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 7:58 pm
Posts: 29
By the way you can add Italian to the list of translations, as I'm currently translating the strings.
One issue I have found is with prompts - prompts to enter Yes/No, etc. - there is no way to change the keys that must be pressed in order to answer the prompt.
For example, instead of 'Y' (yes) and 'N' (no), Italian has 'S' (si) and 'N' (no).

_________________
Visopsys@Unhaut - http://unhaut.fav.cc/visopsys


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Translating Visopsys OS
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 11:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 460
Cool!

In those cases, we could change the 'Y' or 'N' to use the uppercased first character of the translation of "yes" or "no". Like:
Code:
printf("(%c)%s/(%c)%s?", _("Yes")[0], (_("Yes") + 1), _("No")[0], (_("No") + 1));

Something like that? Can you identify all the places where we'd need it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Translating Visopsys OS
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 11:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 460
ap0r wrote:
Well, spanish seems to be OK, except that some strings are still english

And some of them look suspiciously similar to German :lol: (User Manager)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Translating Visopsys OS
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:40 am
Posts: 103
andymc wrote:
ap0r wrote:
Well, spanish seems to be OK, except that some strings are still english

And some of them look suspiciously similar to German :lol: (User Manager)


I blame Fosforito! :P I reviewed my half of the strings and they're all translated!

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Translating Visopsys OS
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 12:16 am
Posts: 58
Location: Paraguay
ap0r wrote:
andymc wrote:
ap0r wrote:
Well, spanish seems to be OK, except that some strings are still english

And some of them look suspiciously similar to German :lol: (User Manager)


I blame Fosforito! :P I reviewed my half of the strings and they're all translated!


:oops: I already noted that... I'll fix that at home :D

_________________
My Homepage: http://www.fosforito.net/ :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Translating Visopsys OS
PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 1:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 460
Howdy mates,

I've been hard at work. Here's the latest: http://visopsys.org/files/visopsys/visopsys-2014-04-23-src.zip

I've been working on a bunch of stuff, trying to make user-specific settings generally, re-implementing the kernel's "variable list" functionality, separating the "window shell" functionality from the rest of the window system (in anticipation of making it a user-space program, later), and improving the general language-switching experience.

For the moment, there's still no install-time language choice. You still have to create a user and then choose a language for him.

But, if you change the language while logged in as that user, you'll notice that the 'User Manager' program tries to switch language immediately. It's something I'm working on. Other things will show the change when you open new instances. The window shell itself (the top menu, the desktop icons, etc) still needs you to re-login.

I've implemented language-specific configuration files (for example in dist/system/config/de/desktop.conf, etc) where you just override the variables that have translatable strings. I've tried to plug a few sensible-looking things in there, for German and Spanish, but any corrections would be appreciated.

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Translating Visopsys OS
PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:40 am
Posts: 103
Whoa there, lots of advancements towards a more dynamic and easier to customize Visopsys! This extra sweat now, will save tons of headaches in the future (and maybe create a few new headaches) :P

Moving the window shell to userspace sounds logical. I wonder about language selection... Should Visopsys start the installation in English or ask for a language first and foremost?

I like the new dynamic language, reboots/relogins and other time-wasting tasks are a pain in the ass so eliminating or keeping them to a minimum is the best for any OS and not just visopsys,

I'll check this in detail and let you know of any bugs that arise or ideas that i think of.

Cheers!

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Translating Visopsys OS
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 4:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:03 pm
Posts: 39
fosforito - what does mean "lectoescritura"?
Google recognize galician language and translate this to russian approx. as "Read letter"

BTW about 60% russian translate ready. Some programs will be not translated. E.g. telnet. Too many specific words, wich not traslate on russian.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Translating Visopsys OS
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 6:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:03 pm
Posts: 39
Quote:
Note that the .po files are now saved with the ISO-8859-15 character set. Visopsys doesn't support UTF-8 yet


Cyrillic is CP866, 1251, 1252, UTF-8, KOI-8R, KOI-8U, ISO-8859-5. What wich i can use?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Translating Visopsys OS
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 12:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:40 am
Posts: 103
Liss wrote:
fosforito - what does mean "lectoescritura"?
Google recognize galician language and translate this to russian approx. as "Read letter"

BTW about 60% russian translate ready. Some programs will be not translated. E.g. telnet. Too many specific words, wich not traslate on russian.


"Lectoescritura" means Read/Write (as in capability to read/write files"

Congratulations on the progress! :D

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 133 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 14  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group