visopsys.org

Visopsys Forums
It is currently Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:23 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 6:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:36 pm
Posts: 18
how to port the netsurf to visopsys?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 12:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 459
Hi ps2013, welcome.

I hadn't heard of that web browser before, but it does look like something that is quite port-able.

The problem is that Visopsys doesn't really have a working network stack, yet. That will come in the next major version, 0.9.

However, a browser could probably still be ported in the meantime, and that would be useful for displaying HTML files, including documentation, etc. Then when the network stuff is ready, we would be all ready to go.

Have you tried porting open source products before? I imagine that we would need some kind of Visopsys-specific header files, a layer for interfacing with the Windowing system, and some (possibly stubbed, in the case of networking) C library functions.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 3:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:36 pm
Posts: 18
I can't compile Netsurf to Visopsys:
$ gcc browser.c
In file included from browser.c:42:0:
utils/corestrings.h:26:26: фатальная ошибка: libwapcaplet.h: No such file or directory
#include <libwapcaplet.h>
^
компиляция прервана.

This file comes on:
’®¬ ў гбва®©б⢥ E Ё¬ҐҐв ¬ҐвЄг information
‘ҐаЁ©­л© ­®¬Ґа ⮬ : 7C20-F324

‘®¤Ґа¦Ё¬®Ґ Ї ЇЄЁ E:\cygwin64\home\user\ns\netsurf\desktop\libwapcaplet

04.01.2016 21:47 <DIR> .
04.01.2016 21:47 <DIR> ..
11.03.2015 13:34 1я076 COPYING
04.01.2016 21:36 <DIR> include
11.03.2015 13:34 7я933 libwapcaplet.h
11.03.2015 13:34 232 libwapcaplet.pc.in
11.03.2015 13:34 1я447 Makefile
11.03.2015 13:34 2я062 README
04.01.2016 21:36 <DIR> src
04.01.2016 21:36 <DIR> test
7 д ©«®ў 12я845 Ў ©в
5 Ї Ї®Є 123я083я875я840 Ў ©в бў®Ў®¤­®

What to do?

My sources of Netsurf port to Visopsys: https://dropmefiles.com/K46z3


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 3:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:36 pm
Posts: 18
I think we need to create a kit for easy porting of programs on Visopsys.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 4:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 459
Perhaps, yes.

For now, the best way is probably to put the program you're porting into the Visopsys source tree, under the src/programs directory. Look at (or add to) the Makefile(s) in that tree, and make sure that you're building with the same arguments to GCC. These are needed - to tell GCC the right way to cross-compile a program that will run under Visopsys, and to make it use the correct header files and libraries (for example, startup and runtime code, C library, etc)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 4:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:36 pm
Posts: 18
$ make
mkdir -p ../../build/programs
make: *** Нет правила для сборки цели «../../build/system/libraries/crt0.o», требуемой для «../../build/programs/adduser». Останов.
https://dropmefiles.com/qXc9L


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 459
My Russian is not very good, but Google translate suggests that you need to run 'make' from the top level first, so that things like crt0.o (the startup library code) get built first.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:36 pm
Posts: 18
i can't find this


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 459
You just go to the top level Visopsys directory (the one with the src subdirectory) and type 'make' there. That builds everything. If you go to src/programs and type 'make' there, without doing the full build first, the libraries don't get built and you would get this error.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:36 pm
Posts: 18
make -C osloader
make[1]: вход в каталог «/home/user/vs/src/osloader»
mkdir -p obj ../../build/system/boot ../../build
nasm -f bin -w+orphan-labels mbr-simple.s -o ../../build/system/boot/mbr.simple
make[1]: nasm: Команда не найдена
Makefile:55: ошибка выполнения рецепта для цели «../../build/system/boot/mbr.simple»
make[1]: *** [../../build/system/boot/mbr.simple] Ошибка 127
make[1]: выход из каталога «/home/user/vs/src/osloader»
Makefile:11: ошибка выполнения рецепта для цели «all»
make: *** [all] Ошибка 2


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group