visopsys.org

Visopsys Forums
It is currently Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:30 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:36 pm
Posts: 18
i entered the make


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 459
Google translate suggests that you don't have the 'nasm' assembler installed. Have a look at the BUILDING.txt file for some tips.

Probably, it would be best to build this using Linux. It might be possible to build using Cygwin/Windows, but the installation scripts and various things assume a Unix-like environment, really, and I don't know whether Cygwin can handle all of that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 4:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:36 pm
Posts: 18
I wanted to port DosBox, but it's written in C++, with portions in C. I will try to port the C++ runtime.

Official site of DosBox says that porting DosBox on other platforms: very easy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 4:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:36 pm
Posts: 18
I think that would be difficult C++ runtime to be port.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:36 pm
Posts: 18
Because it is difficult, I removed Cygwin from the computer and I won't try to port Netsurf on Visopsys any more.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 459
I think that being able to build the operating system, and being familiar with the existing code and interfaces, would be the first steps. After you get to that level, then writing or porting software, as other people here have done.

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 5:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:03 pm
Posts: 37
ps2013 wrote:
Because it is difficult, I removed Cygwin from the computer and I won't try to port Netsurf on Visopsys any more.

Зачем браться если видишь что не по силам? :?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group