visopsys.org

Visopsys Forums
It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:00 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: IDE controller hang up
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 1:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:50 am
Posts: 7
I was trying the Partition Logic and when I boot it hangs at the Detecting Hardware: IDE Disk Controller. As far as I am aware, I do not have SATA drives, and my BIOS screen has no option for it. I don't know what you need to know, so I'll tell what the BIOS says.

My system is an old HP Pavilion 505w with an Intel Celeron 2200/400MHz CPU. The hard drive is a Samsung SV0602H, and the CD-drive in a Philips cdd5301. It has a Floppy Disk Drive: 1.44Mb 3.5". The installed memory is 256MB/ PC2100 DDR SDRAM. My mouse is PS/2, and the keyboard is USB.

Do you use the Upload attachment to put pictures up?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE controller hang up
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 1:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 460
Hello,

Hmm, yes I think we'd need a bit more information about your IDE set up, if you can provide it.

What's the configuration of the drives, i.e. slaves, masters, etc.?

Are there any BIOS settings related to the IDE controller that you can tell us? I'm assuming from what you said that there's no SATA controller in backwards-compatible mode? i.e. No choices between PATA (IDE), AHCI/native (SATA), etc? The current version of Partition Logic needs the controller to be placed in IDE mode, if present, though ideally it shouldn't hang in either case!

Thanks,
Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE controller hang up
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:50 am
Posts: 7
Primary Master Samsung SV0602H
Primary Slave Auto
Secondary Master Philips CDD5301
Primary Slave Auto
I have a Floppy Drive if that matters.

Local Bus IDE Adapter is set to both. It can be set to Primary, Secondary, or Disabled.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE controller hang up
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 460
Cheers,

Can you find any other settings related to IDE/PATA/SATA/AHCI, perhaps on an 'advanced' or 'chipset configuration' or 'onboard devices' page?

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE controller hang up
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 3:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:50 am
Posts: 7
This is what's on the advanced Tab, and I don't know where to find the other tabs.

CPU Type Intel Celeron (R)
CPU Speed 2200MHz/400MHz
Cache RAM 128KB

Plug & Play OS [Yes]
Reset Configuration Data [No]
Onboard Video Memory [8MB]
Primary Video Adapter [PCI]
PS/2 Mouse [Auto Detect]
USB Legacy Mode Support [Auto]
Supervisor Password [Enter]
User Password [Enter]
Local Bus IDE Adapter [Both]
Onboard LAN [Enabled]
Onboard Audio [Auto]

> I/O Device Configuration


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE controller hang up
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 3:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 460
Thanks. Nothing to change there, I think. What settings are on the

> I/O Device Configuration

page?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE controller hang up
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 3:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:50 am
Posts: 7
Serial Port A [3F8H/IRQ4]

Parallel Port [378H/IRQ7]
Parallel Port Mode [ECP]
ECP DMA Select [3]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE controller hang up
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2012 9:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 460
Nothing there either. :think:

Any other pages with settings related to IDE/PATA/SATA/AHCI ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE controller hang up
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:50 am
Posts: 7
:? I have five tab options in Bios that I can see. Main, Advanced, Power, Boot, and Exit.

Main has the system time, the system date, language, the info on the floppy drive and both the CD and hard drive, my installed memory (changed to 1GB, apparent MoBo Max), and the Bios Core Version and revision. The core version is 6.0 and revision says 3.05 12/18/02 if that's important.

Advanced Tab I listed earlier.

Power Tab has After AC Power Failure [Stay Off], and the Hardware Monitor that goes into a submenu giving me CPU Fan Speed, System Fan Speed and CPU Temp.

Boot Tab has Boot-time Diagnostic Screen(currently enabled, but was disabled), Quick Boot Mode(currently disabled, but was enabled), and the Boot Device Priority. The Boot priority submenu has four optional submenus: ATAPI CD-ROM, IDE Hard Drive, Removable Device, and Other Boot Device.

Exit I didn't take a picture of, but I think it had four or five options.

I probably should Flash the bios, but I have no idea how. :oops:

Edit: I don't know what this means, but one of the options in other boot device has SCSI in the name, but as far as I'm aware, I don't have anything SCSI-related.

Would it make things worse if I installed another hard drive? I have an old computer with a fried mother board I never got rid of, and I don't remember what kind of hard drive it has.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE controller hang up
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 6:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 460
FierChild wrote:
Edit: I don't know what this means, but one of the options in other boot device has SCSI in the name, but as far as I'm aware, I don't have anything SCSI-related.

Would it make things worse if I installed another hard drive? I have an old computer with a fried mother board I never got rid of, and I don't remember what kind of hard drive it has.



It's probably not a problem with the handling of the particular drive, but rather a problem with handling the IDE controller. Adding a second drive wouldn't make it worse, but probably wouldn't make it better, either! :whistle:

I'd be happy to build a couple of custom, debugging versions if you have time to run them, and post the output (photo of the screen or whatever).

It would be good to try and figure this out...

Andy

EDIT: The SCSI thing might be relevant. Can you tell me what it says? Could it be indicating a bootable USB device?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group