visopsys.org

Visopsys Forums
It is currently Thu Jan 18, 2018 3:01 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Run on Galileo?
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2015 11:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 11:13 am
Posts: 3
Somebody to try to start Visopsys on Galileo single board computer (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Galileo)?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Run on Galileo?
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2015 1:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 460
Not yet! You can be the first 8-)

Is it much like a PC architecture?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Run on Galileo?
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2015 3:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 11:13 am
Posts: 3
Unfortunately I still do not have a Galileo SBC. Before buying it, I want to be sure, that I can use it with some interesting and light weight operation system. Running Windows or Linux is not option for me.

Intel Galileo if single board computer, but designed to use - IoT (internet of things). So, it have not any video port, but it is possible to have such, with suitable expansion card (Galileo has mini-PCI Express slot).

Galileo is x86 architecture. According to Intel site it has:
Quote:
Intel® Quark™ SoC X1000 application processor, a 32-bit, single-core, single-thread, Intel® Pentium® processor instruction set architecture (ISA)-compatible, operating at speeds up to 400 MHz.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Run on Galileo?
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2015 5:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 460
Given that it's an x86 instruction set, and the SOC is nominally ISA-compatible, then I suppose there's a pretty good chance it will work without too many modifications. I wouldn't bet on Visopsys booting straight out of the box on that, though. Too many things can go wrong! The video interface being one of those things... It would probably require someone to go into the code and correct any incorrect assumptions being made about the standard hardware configuration of a PC. Also, bootstrapping things would probably require a new OS kernel loader, since the board seems unlikely to have a legacy BIOS running on it.

I've never tried this board, but I've played around, bare-metal-style, with an ARM-based Raspberry PI. That kind of hardware tends to require a bit of specialist knowledge from the operating system, and therefore some customization.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group