Translating Visopsys OS

General discussion about Visopsys. We'll create more specific forums if the number of posts justifies that.
Post Reply
nextvolume
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 7:58 pm

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by nextvolume » Fri Apr 11, 2014 10:44 am

By the way you can add Italian to the list of translations, as I'm currently translating the strings.
One issue I have found is with prompts - prompts to enter Yes/No, etc. - there is no way to change the keys that must be pressed in order to answer the prompt.
For example, instead of 'Y' (yes) and 'N' (no), Italian has 'S' (si) and 'N' (no).
Visopsys@Unhaut - http://unhaut.fav.cc/visopsys

User avatar
andymc
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by andymc » Fri Apr 11, 2014 11:32 am

Cool!

In those cases, we could change the 'Y' or 'N' to use the uppercased first character of the translation of "yes" or "no". Like:

Code: Select all

printf("(%c)%s/(%c)%s?", _("Yes")[0], (_("Yes") + 1), _("No")[0], (_("No") + 1));
Something like that? Can you identify all the places where we'd need it?

User avatar
andymc
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by andymc » Fri Apr 11, 2014 11:50 am

ap0r wrote:Well, spanish seems to be OK, except that some strings are still english
And some of them look suspiciously similar to German :lol: (User Manager)

User avatar
ap0r
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:40 am

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by ap0r » Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:04 pm

andymc wrote:
ap0r wrote:Well, spanish seems to be OK, except that some strings are still english
And some of them look suspiciously similar to German :lol: (User Manager)
I blame Fosforito! :P I reviewed my half of the strings and they're all translated!
Image
Image

User avatar
fosforito
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 12:16 am
Location: Paraguay
Contact:

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by fosforito » Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:16 pm

ap0r wrote:
andymc wrote:
ap0r wrote:Well, spanish seems to be OK, except that some strings are still english
And some of them look suspiciously similar to German :lol: (User Manager)
I blame Fosforito! :P I reviewed my half of the strings and they're all translated!
:oops: I already noted that... I'll fix that at home :D
My Homepage: http://www.fosforito.net/ :)

User avatar
andymc
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by andymc » Wed Apr 23, 2014 1:20 am

Howdy mates,

I've been hard at work. Here's the latest: http://visopsys.org/files/visopsys/viso ... 23-src.zip

I've been working on a bunch of stuff, trying to make user-specific settings generally, re-implementing the kernel's "variable list" functionality, separating the "window shell" functionality from the rest of the window system (in anticipation of making it a user-space program, later), and improving the general language-switching experience.

For the moment, there's still no install-time language choice. You still have to create a user and then choose a language for him.

But, if you change the language while logged in as that user, you'll notice that the 'User Manager' program tries to switch language immediately. It's something I'm working on. Other things will show the change when you open new instances. The window shell itself (the top menu, the desktop icons, etc) still needs you to re-login.

I've implemented language-specific configuration files (for example in dist/system/config/de/desktop.conf, etc) where you just override the variables that have translatable strings. I've tried to plug a few sensible-looking things in there, for German and Spanish, but any corrections would be appreciated.

Andy

User avatar
ap0r
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:40 am

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by ap0r » Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:12 am

Whoa there, lots of advancements towards a more dynamic and easier to customize Visopsys! This extra sweat now, will save tons of headaches in the future (and maybe create a few new headaches) :P

Moving the window shell to userspace sounds logical. I wonder about language selection... Should Visopsys start the installation in English or ask for a language first and foremost?

I like the new dynamic language, reboots/relogins and other time-wasting tasks are a pain in the ass so eliminating or keeping them to a minimum is the best for any OS and not just visopsys,

I'll check this in detail and let you know of any bugs that arise or ideas that i think of.

Cheers!
Image
Image

Liss
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:03 pm

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by Liss » Sun May 04, 2014 4:32 pm

fosforito - what does mean "lectoescritura"?
Google recognize galician language and translate this to russian approx. as "Read letter"

BTW about 60% russian translate ready. Some programs will be not translated. E.g. telnet. Too many specific words, wich not traslate on russian.

Liss
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:03 pm

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by Liss » Sun May 04, 2014 6:08 pm

Note that the .po files are now saved with the ISO-8859-15 character set. Visopsys doesn't support UTF-8 yet
Cyrillic is CP866, 1251, 1252, UTF-8, KOI-8R, KOI-8U, ISO-8859-5. What wich i can use?

User avatar
ap0r
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:40 am

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by ap0r » Mon May 05, 2014 12:45 am

Liss wrote:fosforito - what does mean "lectoescritura"?
Google recognize galician language and translate this to russian approx. as "Read letter"

BTW about 60% russian translate ready. Some programs will be not translated. E.g. telnet. Too many specific words, wich not traslate on russian.
"Lectoescritura" means Read/Write (as in capability to read/write files"

Congratulations on the progress! :D
Image
Image

Post Reply