Translating Visopsys OS

General discussion about Visopsys. We'll create more specific forums if the number of posts justifies that.
User avatar
andymc
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by andymc » Sat May 09, 2015 11:38 pm

Sure, will do, Liss. Give me a couple of days; I'm buried in the compression library code and need to keep my focus as much as possible (this stuff is kind of difficult).

User avatar
andymc
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by andymc » Sat May 09, 2015 11:39 pm

But, I should say that it's awesome that you did this, thanks a lot!

User avatar
fosforito
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 12:16 am
Location: Paraguay
Contact:

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by fosforito » Mon May 11, 2015 7:36 pm

Hi! I just wanted to greet you guys and share an image with you. Practicing with Inkscape ;)

Let's see when Visopsys will have 1.000.000 Posts :D

:violin: :violin: :violin: :violin: :violin:
Attachments
visopsys-1000.png
My Homepage: http://www.fosforito.net/ :)

User avatar
andymc
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by andymc » Wed Jun 17, 2015 1:30 am

Liss wrote:I did it! Completion is about 97%. Not translated some specific strings at telnet and fontutil. Andy, can you integrate translate to system and give me image? I want to take out mistakes in translate.
Hi Liss!

Sorry it's taken me so long, the compression library stuff was pretty intense, but I think it's finished now.

I just released version 0.77, and now I've tried integrating your translation.

I'd post it up for you to try, but actually without the Russian language charset/font support, it just looks like nonsense.

Version 0.8, which is getting close to being ready, will have much better charset support, and I think I can add all the needed font characters so that this translation works properly. I'd like to be able to add Russian to that release! 0.8 will also make managing and editing fonts and charsets a lot easier.

One thing I noticed, is that the configuration files in under /system/config still need translation. Quite a lot of what the user sees comes from there. Any chance you can give those a look?

PS> don't worry about telnet, and especially fontutil (that one will be completely different in 0.8). src/programs/fdisk is an important one, though!

Liss
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:03 pm

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by Liss » Sun Jun 21, 2015 11:56 am

Hi, Andy. I have translate files that send me fosforito. My fdisk folder is empty. If you send me fresh PO files, i`ll update translate.
I think the files in the /system/config does not need to be translated yet. Our system is experimental and is interested only geeks who already can read English. More important support for the Russian language in general. A translation is a pleasant addition to language support. Language support might attract developers who would be interested to participate in the development. What can our programmers, you can see in http://kolibrios.org/en/ (as a patriotic note :)

User avatar
andymc
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by andymc » Sun Jun 21, 2015 10:44 pm

I'm working on the charset and font changes now :-) Almost there - I've got your translations with Cyrillic characters in the command windows, but not the GUI controls. I hope to figure it out tonight. When I do, I can send back the PO files. Translating the config files is really easy and fast, and they would make it look properly Russian :-)

posle
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 11:13 am

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by posle » Mon Jun 22, 2015 6:04 pm

I am interested what characters set you plan to use for Cyrillic characters?

User avatar
andymc
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by andymc » Mon Jun 22, 2015 9:41 pm

I'm using the ISO-8859 sets in Visopsys, so ISO-8859-5 for Russian. ISO-8859-9 for Turkish. ISO-8859-15 for Western Europe, and ISO-8859-16 for some Eastern ones.

Liss
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:03 pm

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by Liss » Tue Jun 23, 2015 3:56 pm

waiting for results :)

User avatar
andymc
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Re: Translating Visopsys OS

Post by andymc » Tue Jun 23, 2015 5:06 pm

Coming, coming! :-) I didn't have much time yesterday. I can force it to work in the GUI now, but I just need to figure out the 'right' way to do it.

It's just a matter of deciding when to read the user's CHARSET environment variable and load the correct glyph data into each font. I can update the default GUI fonts any time a window is created, but the programmer can also specify a custom font for each window component. I need to make sure those have the correct glyphs available also.

Post Reply