Page 2 of 5

Re: Bug reporting thread

Posted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 12:57 am
by andymc
Hi Ivan,

Are you using the new 0.74 release? I can try to trace the location of the bug based on the stuff in the stack trace, but I need to know what version the binaries are.

Andy

Re: Bug reporting thread

Posted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 1:32 am
by andymc
Actually, no worries, I was able to reproduce this myself, with the latest code. :oops: I'll take it from here

Re: Bug reporting thread

Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 1:32 am
by ronaldlees
Have been following the project for awhile. I wonder where the major discussions take place relative to development. Is there an IRC channel for Visopsys?

Re: Bug reporting thread

Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 1:32 am
by ronaldlees
Have been following the project for awhile. I wonder where the major discussions take place relative to development. Is there an IRC channel for Visopsys?

Re: Bug reporting thread

Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 2:03 am
by ap0r
I don't think so. The forums are the most lively part of the community, there's not much people around :)

Re: Bug reporting thread

Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 2:03 am
by ap0r
And by all means, feel free to create one if you're up to the task :P

Re: Bug reporting thread

Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 2:08 am
by ronaldlees
ap0r wrote:And by all means, feel free to create one if you're up to the task :P
Thanks for the info. Sorry for double post. New (to me) browser giving me some trouble.

Re: Bug reporting thread Visopsys version 0.8 (pre)

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:38 pm
by ronaldlees
I noticed a bug when running the user administration application. The system continued to run long enough to allow me to click the details button to get the text, as shown below, and then froze. However; on subsequent boots, the user admin application was fine (no error).

Code: Select all

Process "login" caused a page fault exception at application address 0x00000000.

Multitasker debug TSS selector:

oldTSS=00000000 ESP0=00011ffc SS0=00000018 ESP1=00000000 SS1=00000000 ESP2=00000000 SS2=00000000
CR3=00525000 EIP=c0025955 EFLAGS=00000046 ESP=00011e78 EBP=00011e8c ESI=00000000 EDI=00000001
CS=00000008 SS=00000018 ES=0000002b DS=0000002b FS=0000002b GS=0000002b

LDTSelector=00000000 IOMapBase=0068
---->Stack trace process "login":
Supervisor stack:
0xc001be1e
0xc0032657
0xc0032e92
0xc00007be

User Stack:
0x00027536 textdomain
0x08049575 multitaskerGetCurrentProcessId
This doesn't seem to be a big deal (we really don't have users, eh?) - but thought I would toss it onto the bug thread anyway. It may help down the road. I was running a read-only filesystem when this happened (the CD) - so maybe that's the reason.

Re: Bug reporting thread: Touch screen Visopsys 0.8

Posted: Sat Oct 17, 2015 10:58 pm
by ronaldlees
I 've been playing with Visopsys 0.8 and the touch-screen feature. Starting with real hardware, I didn't get the touch-screen to work. In order to be able to debug the problem, I switched to QEMU, (yeah - I know - that potentially could have an issue all by itself :-( ).

Anyway, I'm using the touchscreen option for QEMU, by putting "-usbdevice tablet" on the startup command line. With that option specified, I get the following info in the device applet of Visopsys:

PCI Bus controller
USB Bus controller
- controller type = UHCI
- controller.numPorts=2
- controller.interrupt=11
-controller.usbVersion=1.0
USB Unknown
- usb.class=0x03 (Human interface device)
- usb.subclass=0x00 (mouse)
- usb.protocol=0x02
-usb.rootport=1
-usb.address=1
-usb.speed=full
-usb.version=2.0

Without the QEMU touchscreen/tablet option specified, I get no USB info (seems reasonable). Using a QEMU/GDB/etc setup, I put a breakpoint in kernelTouchInput() and got one hit there when Visopsys first started, but then nothing thereafter. On real hardware, I see both USB1.0 and USB2.0 controllers in the Visopsys devices applet, but no HID devices. Things look promising though, since the QEMU setup tried to recognize my VU touch screen.

Edit 1: Looking at the devices (above) - it looks like I have only a USB1.0 controller, doesn't it? So, QEMU needs a different command line than I'm using, in order to create a USB2.0 setup. Will have to check further...

Edit 2: After further checking - nope - it's the other way around. I need USB 1.0, because the touchscreen is 1.0 (full=1.0, high=2.0). Qemu generated a warning:

Code: Select all

"Warning: speed mismatch trying to attach USB device "FT5926 Multitouch (full speed)" to bus (high speed)"
Unfortunately, *everything* I tried in QEMU generated only USB 2.0 virtual touchscreens, even when I explicitly created all the virtual devices as UHCI. So, it might be a QEMU issue at this point, unless I've seriously mistyped or misunderstood something (possible). I just read that multitouch is not working in QEMU yet - so that's another issue to deal with.

Re: Bug reporting thread

Posted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 6:27 am
by dufresnep
visopsys-0.77.iso burned on a DVD, then booted in my machine (on the DVD) so real machine.
edit: pretty idem (even same lines) with visopsys-0.8_pre1.iso

[Edit I have the feeling that the problem is my card reader... In linux, it creates 4 disk drives, one for each slots (which have no cards in)
paul@arcturus:~$ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0bda:0111 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTS5111 Card Reader Controller
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 15d9:0a4f Trust International B.V. Optical Mouse
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Because it is part of the box, connected to the motherboard... I don't feel too much to disconnect it.
SCSI sense error key=0x02 asc=0x3a ascq=0x00 means NOT Ready, Media Not Found:
http://www.t10.org/lists/asc-alph.htm
]

The following lines repeat many times:
SCSI test unit ready failed
Error::KernelScsiDiskDriver.c:detectTarget(784):
SCSI sense error key=0x02 asc=0x3a ascq=0x00
Error::KernelScsiDiskDriver.c:usbScsiCommand (286):
USB MS Command error Status 01
Error::KernelScsiDriver.c:ScsiTestUnitReady (530):

Code: Select all

Trace:
kernelMain.c(79)
  kernelInitialize.c(361)
    kernelDisk.c:KernelDiskInitialize(361)??
      kernelDisk.c:KernelDiskInitialize(2254)
        kernelScsiDiskDriver.c:detectTarget(868)
          KernelScsiDiskDriver.c.detectTarget(784)
            KernelScsiDiskDriver.c:scsiTestUnitReady(530)
              KernelScsiDiskDriver.c:usbScsiCommand(286)
                MS Status 01
hardware info:
DVD writer drive with DVD on PATA
hard disk on Sata
mouse on a USB port
no other things on USB ports (no Disks on USB)
a multi-reader card for SDCards/MMC/RS etc.
(NVIDIA chipset)

I have tried to:
-disable Sata in BIOS (to disable my Hard disk)
-remove the Compatible mode in BIOS
-boot without the USB mouse
no change

Problem in kernelUsbDrriver.c must be here (near here... eh maybe not):
else if ((senseData.senseKey == SCSI_SENSE_NOTREADY) &&
(senseData.addlSenseCode == 0x04))
{
// The drive may be in the process of becoming ready
kernelMultitaskerWait(5);
continue;
}
Need to study that (senseData.addlSenseCode == 0x04

P.S. It would be cool to be able to pause the messages scrolling with the pause key