Could I please have a VMware image of Visopsys

General discussion about Visopsys. We'll create more specific forums if the number of posts justifies that.
Post Reply
12padams
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2014 6:45 am

Could I please have a VMware image of Visopsys

Post by 12padams » Sat Mar 08, 2014 6:48 am

I've tried installing it many times with VMWare 8 using the FAT16 file system and 512 megabytes but it just won't boot or find the operating system.

I run the YouTube Channel "OSFirstTimer" so please send me the premade vmware image ASAP so I can make a video of this operating system for my 21,000 subscribers ;)

User avatar
ap0r
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:40 am

Re: Could I please have a VMware image of Visopsys

Post by ap0r » Sat Mar 08, 2014 9:34 am

12padams wrote:I've tried installing it many times with VMWare 8 using the FAT16 file system and 512 megabytes but it just won't boot or find the operating system.

I run the YouTube Channel "OSFirstTimer" so please send me the premade vmware image ASAP so I can make a video of this operating system for my 21,000 subscribers ;)
Visopsys assumes dual booting, that you already have an MBR. There is the option, when formatting disk, to "Install Basic MBR". That will make it boot. :)
Image
Image

User avatar
ap0r
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:40 am

Re: Could I please have a VMware image of Visopsys

Post by ap0r » Sat Mar 08, 2014 9:48 am

12padams wrote:I've tried installing it many times with VMWare 8 using the FAT16 file system and 512 megabytes but it just won't boot or find the operating system.

I run the YouTube Channel "OSFirstTimer" so please send me the premade vmware image ASAP so I can make a video of this operating system for my 21,000 subscribers ;)
I've made a fresh-install here

http://www.mediafire.com/download/z4ykv ... sopsys.zip

Just unzip that folder inside your virtual machines dir.

For log-in, user is "admin" and password is "pr0n"
Image
Image

12padams
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2014 6:45 am

Re: Could I please have a VMware image of Visopsys

Post by 12padams » Sun Mar 09, 2014 8:07 pm

Thanks, I will work on making the video next week. I appreciate all your help :)

User avatar
andymc
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Re: Could I please have a VMware image of Visopsys

Post by andymc » Tue Mar 11, 2014 12:55 am

Ah yes, I guess I never really considered the case of installing on a totally blank hard disk :oops:

When the installer offers you a chance to partition the hard disk, you can choose 'install basic MBR' from the 'disk' menu at the top. That will install an MBR sector that boots the partition marked as 'active'.

I suppose I should check for that somehow, but I'd have to have a think about the appropriate place to put it.

12padams
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2014 6:45 am

Re: Could I please have a VMware image of Visopsys

Post by 12padams » Sun Mar 16, 2014 3:27 am

Thanks for your help guys. I got an error with that VMWare machine you made... something about it not being compatible with my version of VMWare however I managed to install visopsys based on the advice of making an MBR first.

An OSFirstTimer video typically gets at least 2,000 views within 24 hours of it being uploaded so hopefully next week on Sunday the 23rd of March 2014 your OS will get some good attention.

Here are some non-linux hobby Operating Systems that have been featured on OSFirstTimer in the past:
SymbOS: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i7mHa4gY ... n-Oej4Rflw - 8,000 views
TempleOS: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6WgOWrT1 ... n-Oej4Rflw - 15,000 views
SkyOS: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kfhAcqD0 ... n-Oej4Rflw - 14,000 views

They get a lot less views than our usual videos but its always good to see them up there with the bigger operating systems like Windows, Mac and Linux.

User avatar
ap0r
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:40 am

Re: Could I please have a VMware image of Visopsys

Post by ap0r » Sun Mar 16, 2014 5:29 pm

Cool :) There is not much activity here!
Image
Image

Post Reply