Use Visopsys 0.73 | Read it please!!

General discussion about Visopsys. We'll create more specific forums if the number of posts justifies that.
Post Reply
dalmemail
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 8:28 am

Use Visopsys 0.73 | Read it please!!

Post by dalmemail » Sun May 18, 2014 6:59 pm

I talked about my problem to run Visopsys 0.73 (or 0.72)
You can read all about that here : http://visopsys.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=236
When i start Visopsys on a computer or on a Virtual Machine it
say this : Image
And no continue.

nextvolume
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 7:58 pm

Re: Use Visopsys 0.73 | Read it please!!

Post by nextvolume » Mon May 19, 2014 8:11 am

What version of QEMU are you using?
Visopsys@Unhaut - http://unhaut.fav.cc/visopsys

User avatar
ronaldlees
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 5:19 pm

Re: Use Visopsys 0.73 | Read it please!!

Post by ronaldlees » Tue May 20, 2014 5:33 pm

I have loaded visopsys on real hardware and it works. This is my first post. This operating system is quite interesting. I noticed that the gui has icons for interesting programs, but I didn't see a web browser. I did see something about work on UDP in this forum somewhere, or maybe some other place on the site, and maybe that means the TCP/IP stack is a work in progress? What's the status of the network stack? Also, since I didn't see a gui-powered browser, is there a text mode one?

Anyway, great work. I love to see new operating systems that can (someday) be an alternative to the mainstream.

SO, keep up the great work :!:

User avatar
ronaldlees
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 5:19 pm

Re: Use Visopsys 0.73 | Read it please!!

Post by ronaldlees » Tue May 20, 2014 5:34 pm

Oh, by the way, the version I ran on real hardware was the latest ((0.73)

nextvolume
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 7:58 pm

Re: Use Visopsys 0.73 | Read it please!!

Post by nextvolume » Tue May 20, 2014 8:16 pm

The network stack only implements IP and UDP currently and supports the AMD PCNet network card (which QEMU emulates).
That's enough for simple protocols like telnet, but many things require TCP, which is not yet implemented, due to data integrity that TCP provides.
As such there is currently no web browser for the platform - not even a text mode one.
That said, it'd be unlikely you will ever see any big-name browser on the platform - they are really complex, unoptimized and bloated piece of software whose only reason of existence is industrial inertia and having to support a lot of broken things so people won't complain. Also, software like that would probably go against the philosophy of this operating system..
A small, compact web browser written from scratch would be the ideal choice for this platform - not super-compatible, but enough to surf what's around (you can not make real sense out of HTML) - the endeavor is not even terribly difficult, but development time is a problem..

That's it :)
Visopsys@Unhaut - http://unhaut.fav.cc/visopsys

User avatar
andymc
Posts: 476
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Re: Use Visopsys 0.73 | Read it please!!

Post by andymc » Wed May 21, 2014 6:50 am

nextvolume wrote:What version of QEMU are you using?
I noticed this problem with some newer version of Qemu also; I didn't have time to investigate it at the time. Someone else reported it as well. Certainly Visopsys used to work with it, and I don't think I've changed anything in the RTC code in recent years, so I would guess that it's some change in Qemu. Real hardware never shows this error, I don't think. Maybe someone could make contact with the Qemu guys and try to figure it out?

dalmemail
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 8:28 am

Re: Use Visopsys 0.73 | Read it please!!

Post by dalmemail » Wed May 21, 2014 2:02 pm

QEMU PC emulator version 0.12.5 (Debian 0.12.5+dfsg-3squeeze3), Copyright (c) 2003-2008 Fabrice Bellard

I use this.... But on a real hardware (Pentium 3 and AMD Athlon) it
doesn't run.... Why????
Thanks....

User avatar
andymc
Posts: 476
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Re: Use Visopsys 0.73 | Read it please!!

Post by andymc » Wed May 21, 2014 3:59 pm

dalmemail wrote:But on a real hardware (Pentium 3 and AMD Athlon) it
doesn't run.... Why????
Thanks....
It's difficult to say, but if it freezes at the end of loading the kernel, as you seem to be describing, then it does sound like the CD-ROM problem that nextvolume suggested. Could you try using the USB stick version from the download page, if your system supports booting from USB. If it doesn't support that, you could use a "Plop Boot" CD to boot, and then boot the USB stick. That will tell us more about whether it's your CD-ROM(s) that aren't properly supported.

User avatar
ronaldlees
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 5:19 pm

Re: Use Visopsys 0.73 | Read it please!!

Post by ronaldlees » Wed May 21, 2014 7:00 pm

nextvolume wrote:The network stack only implements IP and UDP currently and supports the AMD PCNet network card (which QEMU emulates).
That's enough for simple protocols like telnet, but many things require TCP, which is not yet implemented, due to data integrity that TCP provides.
As such there is currently no web browser for the platform - not even a text mode one.
That said, it'd be unlikely you will ever see any big-name browser on the platform - they are really complex, unoptimized and bloated piece of software whose only reason of existence is industrial inertia and having to support a lot of broken things so people won't complain. Also, software like that would probably go against the philosophy of this operating system..
A small, compact web browser written from scratch would be the ideal choice for this platform - not super-compatible, but enough to surf what's around (you can not make real sense out of HTML) - the endeavor is not even terribly difficult, but development time is a problem..

That's it :)
Thanks for the info. It's good to see a new operating system that keeps on keeping on, and that has a lot of conversation associated with it. Great job! I've posted a little blurb on daemonforums.org, so now you've had a little bit more conversation!

http://daemonforums.org/showpost.php?p= ... stcount=48

I'm typing this using the WebPositive web browser on the Haiku-OS, so I'm into the more obscure operating system scene. WebPositive is modded Webkit plus a little front end tweaked for the Haiku GUI setup.. nothing elaborate. Until recently, it still used (for the network portion) the reference implementation of Webkit for test browsers: curl. So, that's the kind of thing you could look at. Or, maybe fork a text mode browser, and put a GUI to it. Some of them have javascript. Or, like you say, just build a simple one.

The reference implementation of Webkit is nice, because curl is easy to modify outside the scope of the browser. For instance, after the SSL brouhaha, I recompiled curl to use PolarSSL, and so my WebPositive browser surfs with PolarSSL. Very easy, and abstracts the GUI and rendering stuff away from the network. I'm not sure if the newest incarnation of Webkit still works with curl on the back end. But, it's something to try.

Anyway, good luck on you project. I'll check back now and again ....

Post Reply