Console text editor for Visopsys

General discussion about Visopsys. We'll create more specific forums if the number of posts justifies that.
Post Reply
nextvolume
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 7:58 pm

Console text editor for Visopsys

Post by nextvolume » Mon Nov 09, 2015 7:44 am

This is something I've been working on, on and off, for a while.
It's a text editor for the Visopsys console, called TEdit.

I'm sorry but I'm not at home currently so there are no screenshots.. but it's completely functional.
Source code is here: http://unhaut.x10host.com/tedit.c

The only real issue the editor has is that drawing can be a bit slow.. it can surely be improved with a bit of work!

Also I'd want to suggest to implement a way to get scancodes directly in the console, without using the ASCII values, which are running out, and are completely unimplemented for some keys (like Insert). Something like we have for keypress events in graphics mode.
Visopsys@Unhaut - http://unhaut.fav.cc/visopsys

User avatar
andymc
Posts: 502
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Re: Console text editor for Visopsys

Post by andymc » Mon Nov 09, 2015 9:53 am

That's cool, I had it on my list for a while to get the existing editor working in text mode. I never got around to it, since I wanted to add text drop-down menus first.

In the GUI, keyboard events now contain scan codes. We use UEFI scan codes (see dist/system/headers/sys/keyboard.h in the 0.8 preview sources). I'd have to add some stuff to make the same codes available from the standard text stream functionality.

User avatar
andymc
Posts: 502
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Re: Console text editor for Visopsys

Post by andymc » Mon Nov 09, 2015 10:56 am

BTW, when I click that link, it says 'account suspended' :oops: :clap: I hope you're not in trouble! :lol:

nextvolume
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 7:58 pm

Re: Console text editor for Visopsys

Post by nextvolume » Mon Nov 16, 2015 7:09 pm

No, I'm not in trouble :D
The free hosting I am using requires logging into cPanel at least once every 21 days or it will suspend the account. Pretty strange and I did not know that! Now everything is fine.
Visopsys@Unhaut - http://unhaut.fav.cc/visopsys

Post Reply