visopsys.org
https://visopsys.org/forums/

Console text editor for Visopsys
https://visopsys.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=266
Page 1 of 1

Author:  nextvolume [ Mon Nov 09, 2015 7:44 am ]
Post subject:  Console text editor for Visopsys

This is something I've been working on, on and off, for a while.
It's a text editor for the Visopsys console, called TEdit.

I'm sorry but I'm not at home currently so there are no screenshots.. but it's completely functional.
Source code is here: http://unhaut.x10host.com/tedit.c

The only real issue the editor has is that drawing can be a bit slow.. it can surely be improved with a bit of work!

Also I'd want to suggest to implement a way to get scancodes directly in the console, without using the ASCII values, which are running out, and are completely unimplemented for some keys (like Insert). Something like we have for keypress events in graphics mode.

Author:  andymc [ Mon Nov 09, 2015 9:53 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Console text editor for Visopsys

That's cool, I had it on my list for a while to get the existing editor working in text mode. I never got around to it, since I wanted to add text drop-down menus first.

In the GUI, keyboard events now contain scan codes. We use UEFI scan codes (see dist/system/headers/sys/keyboard.h in the 0.8 preview sources). I'd have to add some stuff to make the same codes available from the standard text stream functionality.

Author:  andymc [ Mon Nov 09, 2015 10:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Console text editor for Visopsys

BTW, when I click that link, it says 'account suspended' :oops: :clap: I hope you're not in trouble! :lol:

Author:  nextvolume [ Mon Nov 16, 2015 7:09 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Console text editor for Visopsys

No, I'm not in trouble :D
The free hosting I am using requires logging into cPanel at least once every 21 days or it will suspend the account. Pretty strange and I did not know that! Now everything is fine.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/