how to port the netsurf to visopsys?

General discussion about Visopsys. We'll create more specific forums if the number of posts justifies that.
ps2013
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:36 pm

Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?

Post by ps2013 » Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:47 pm

i entered the make

User avatar
andymc
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?

Post by andymc » Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:52 pm

Google translate suggests that you don't have the 'nasm' assembler installed. Have a look at the BUILDING.txt file for some tips.

Probably, it would be best to build this using Linux. It might be possible to build using Cygwin/Windows, but the installation scripts and various things assume a Unix-like environment, really, and I don't know whether Cygwin can handle all of that.

ps2013
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:36 pm

Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?

Post by ps2013 » Tue Jan 05, 2016 4:49 am

I wanted to port DosBox, but it's written in C++, with portions in C. I will try to port the C++ runtime.

Official site of DosBox says that porting DosBox on other platforms: very easy.

ps2013
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:36 pm

Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?

Post by ps2013 » Tue Jan 05, 2016 4:56 am

I think that would be difficult C++ runtime to be port.

ps2013
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:36 pm

Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?

Post by ps2013 » Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:35 pm

Because it is difficult, I removed Cygwin from the computer and I won't try to port Netsurf on Visopsys any more.

User avatar
andymc
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?

Post by andymc » Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:45 pm

I think that being able to build the operating system, and being familiar with the existing code and interfaces, would be the first steps. After you get to that level, then writing or porting software, as other people here have done.

Andy

Liss
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:03 pm

Re: how to port the netsurf to visopsys?

Post by Liss » Wed Jan 06, 2016 5:39 pm

ps2013 wrote:Because it is difficult, I removed Cygwin from the computer and I won't try to port Netsurf on Visopsys any more.
Зачем браться если видишь что не по силам? :?

Post Reply