Visopsys 0.7 release candidate

General discussion about Visopsys. We'll create more specific forums if the number of posts justifies that.
User avatar
andymc
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Visopsys 0.7 release candidate

Post by andymc » Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:47 am

Hey everyone,

At long last, I have a release candidate for Visopsys 0.7.

I'm planning to release it in the next couple of days, but if you guys could try it out, and let me know about any problems you find, that would me much appreciated.

Here's a link to the ISO download:
http://visopsys.org/files/visopsys/viso ... 09-iso.zip
[ The link will probably only be valid for a few days, until the public release ]

There have been lots of changes since 0.7_PRE, but they're mostly 'under-the-covers' things like device drivers and general bug fixing. This should be the most solid version of Visopsys ever released.

User avatar
espectalll123
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:58 pm
Location: Toledo, Spain
Contact:

Re: Visopsys 0.7 release candidate

Post by espectalll123 » Wed Feb 09, 2011 3:38 pm

Now testing! Thanks, Andy! I want to see what did you do with our help :D
espectalll123, making dreams work!

User avatar
espectalll123
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:58 pm
Location: Toledo, Spain
Contact:

Re: Visopsys 0.7 release candidate

Post by espectalll123 » Wed Feb 09, 2011 3:43 pm

0 hard disks drives detected... :( Revise it...
espectalll123, making dreams work!

User avatar
andymc
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Re: Visopsys 0.7 release candidate

Post by andymc » Wed Feb 09, 2011 3:45 pm

Is this using VirtualBox?

It was working for me the other day, but when I tried it this morning I think I'm seeing the same problem..

Argh. :oops:

Andy

User avatar
espectalll123
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:58 pm
Location: Toledo, Spain
Contact:

Re: Visopsys 0.7 release candidate

Post by espectalll123 » Wed Feb 09, 2011 3:50 pm

No problem... Now you got time for copy and paste :lol: .
espectalll123, making dreams work!

User avatar
espectalll123
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:58 pm
Location: Toledo, Spain
Contact:

Re: Visopsys 0.7 release candidate

Post by espectalll123 » Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:01 pm

Testing more things...

1· Network error! If I connect, disconnect and connect again fast Visopsys shows me a kernel panic message:

Image

2· Desktop clock works without error windows! :o
NOW MULTITASKING WORKS PERFECT!!! I can open 20 apps at the same time... and goes fast! Before I only can open 6 apps at the same time going a bit slowly…

Image

If you correct the IDE bug Visopsys 0.7 Final will be awesome! :clap: :clap: :clap:
Last edited by espectalll123 on Wed Feb 09, 2011 9:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
espectalll123, making dreams work!

User avatar
andymc
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm

Re: Visopsys 0.7 release candidate

Post by andymc » Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:13 pm

Cheers for the info! I think I've fixed the IDE problem, so it works in VmWare and VirtualBox, but I have to test on a few systems to make sure it doesn't break them. Turns out I was previously booting VirtualBox from a floppy disk image, and didn't notice that it wasn't detecting the IDE disks :doh:

User avatar
osmiumusa
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 8:06 pm

Re: Visopsys 0.7 release candidate

Post by osmiumusa » Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:44 pm

Here's a problem : I can't build it!!! Haha. Does this release fix my problem?

~osmiumusa :mrgreen:
Lemons. :) Nobody doesn't like lemons!

User avatar
Asper
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 7:23 am
Location: Kyrgyzstan, Bishkek

Re: Visopsys 0.7 release candidate

Post by Asper » Thu Feb 10, 2011 2:20 pm

Very good! :) The OS seems to work faster now and it looks better. I have tested it in Qemu 0.13 and I have just a few notes. When I press "logout" I see that nothing changed, then I press "shutdown" I see no changes again, but when I move mouse pointer the window on the background erases by mousepointer. Scrolling in the filemanager not very fast, I think it's because of outputing icons of files. Maybe image output take too much time? Is there any application that can show FPS?

It crashes in VirtualBox 4.0, maybe because I've connected physical HDD to it?

User avatar
espectalll123
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:58 pm
Location: Toledo, Spain
Contact:

Re: Visopsys 0.7 release candidate

Post by espectalll123 » Fri Feb 11, 2011 2:51 pm

Well… When the RC2 version, with every important bug fix? I'm waiting!!! :angry-tappingfoot:

P.S.: Asper, I don't detect the shutdown bug on VirtualBox 4. Can be maybe your PC hardware?
espectalll123, making dreams work!

Post Reply