visopsys.org

Visopsys Forums
It is currently Sat Apr 21, 2018 1:03 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Visopsys discussion forum
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 6:15 pm
Posts: 9
Hi Andy, have you posted your to-do list or made it public? I noticed some other bugs and would like to share them. It is highly possible that you are aware of them already. Just curious. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Visopsys discussion forum
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 462
luis wrote:
Hi Andy, have you posted your to-do list or made it public? I noticed some other bugs and would like to share them. It is highly possible that you are aware of them already. Just curious. Thanks.


Hi luis, I haven't made it public as it's not in an easily-consumed format like bugzilla. It's just a massive text file! If you can fire off a quick bullet-list of issues you've found, then I'll check whether they're already known issues.

The 0.7 release has been sitting at near-readiness for quite a while now, and there's been a massive amount of bugfixing and hardware driver work done since the preview, so I really get on with things and release it...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Visopsys discussion forum
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 4:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 6:15 pm
Posts: 9
One bug, I noticed is when using the configuration editor to change a variable value, if the string value exceeds the length of the textbox (30 chars), then string value is lost.

i.e. editing desktop.config:

background.image=/system/wallpaper/backgrnd.jpg

changed to:

background.image=/system/wallpaper/lebanon-076.bmp

the value saved is:

background.image=bmp


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Visopsys discussion forum
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 462
Yup, that's a known problem. I haven't fixed it yet; that GUI widget is derived from the multi-line text area widget, and the 'scrolling' behaviour is wrong. It's definitely on my list!

Any others you can find?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Visopsys discussion forum
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2010 7:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 6:15 pm
Posts: 9
The other bugs I noted were during installation.

1) With version 0.70-PRE, when booting from the CD, the partition program could not find the formatted hard disk. It gave an error that the disk was not registered. I could not mount the drive either from VSH. Version 0.69 was able to locate the hard disk. I tried partitioning and formatting using many fs types, but still had not had any luck with 0.70.

2) I have a USB 'Y' adapter that I connect my keyboard and mouse to and when I use this I can not use the key board or mouse with the OS. Versions: 0.69 and 0.70-Pre.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Visopsys discussion forum
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 2:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 462
Hi luis,

I've just PMed you a couple of URLs to my latest development version.

The text field horizontal-scrolling bug you mentioned should be fixed now.

This version also contains a lot of work done to the driver for IDE and SATA disks, so it would be really good to know if it can now see all of your hard disks.

USB is a tougher thing to solve at the moment. My USB drivers work pretty well when they work, but they don't work for all devices. Still it would be good to know if this version handles it any better on your system.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Visopsys discussion forum
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 4:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 6:15 pm
Posts: 9
Hi Andy,

Great, I will download the latest version tomorrow and test it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Visopsys discussion forum
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 4:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 4:29 pm
Posts: 1
Wow! It's great to see some activity on this project! I was beginning to get worried that it would become vaporware. Anyway, any estimated release date for 0.7?


Guru


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Visopsys discussion forum
PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 1:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:20 pm
Posts: 462
Hey RhapsodyGuru, thanks for the post.

I've just got a couple of little bugs that I want to fix before the release, so it really should just be another few days. Couple of weeks, tops. I hope!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Visopsys discussion forum
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 1:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 2:29 pm
Posts: 2
Hi this is sundhar and i am trying to build the visopsys source code for the past two days and getting an error
I've tried more than 10 versions ranging from 0.1 to 0.69
I am using Ubuntu that has Gnu gcc and also NASM
Please help me build the source code....
I am working on a new memory managing technique in it

This is the Error i get

make[1]: *** [copy-boot] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/sundhar/Desktop/vis/visopsys-0.6-src/utils'
make: *** [all] Error 2


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group